Shaye Cohn is best known for her work with Tuba Skinny, and Tuba Skinny is most known for Youtube videos,  but the band has released nine albums and Shaye has appeared on the albums of a number of other groups. These are all worth looking into and supporting.

Also check out our Robin Rapuzzi Discography

previous arrow
next arrow

Tuba Skinny Albums:

The only outlet Tuba Skinny authorizes to sell their CDs and LPs is The Louisiana Music Factory. What is available at any given time will vary. Downloads are available directly from the band on their Bandcamp Page.

Erika Lewis – Vocals
Lulu – Violin
Todd – Tuba
Kiowa – Guitar
Shaye Cohn – Trumpet

previous arrow
next arrow
previous arrownext arrow

Erika Lewis – Vocals
Todd Burdick – Tuba
Kiowa Wells- Guitar
Shaye Cohn – Trumpet
Barnabus Jones – Trombone
Alynda Lee – Banjo
Robin Rapuzzi – Washboard

Todd Burdick – Tuba
Kiowa Wells – Guitar / Vocals
Erika Lewis – Vocals
Barnabus Jones – Trombone
Robin Rapuzzi – Washboard
Shaye Cohn – Cornet

previous arrow
next arrow

Todd Burdick – Tuba
Bobby Browne – Banjo / Guitar / Harmonica / Vocals
Barnabus Jones – Trombone / Guitar / Banjo
Shaye Cohn – Cornet / Piano / Fiddle
Robin Rapuzzi – Washboard / Bass Drum
Erika Lewis – Vocals

Special Guests: Jon Doyle on Clarinet & Tenor Sax // Ewan Bleach on Clarinet on Tracks 9, 12, 13 & 14 // John James on Dobro // Sam Doores on Bass Drum // Cassidy Holden on Bass Drum on Track 11.

Recorded October ’11 & April ’12 in the Holy Cross, New Orleans with the help of Cassidy Holden and ourselves. Track 14 recorded live at the Spotted Cat.

previous arrow
next arrow

Pyramid Strut players:
Todd Burdick – Tuba
Westen Borghesi – Tenor Banjo
Jon Doyle – Clarinet
Barnabus Jones – Trombone
Shaye Cohn – Cornet / Fiddle
Robin Rapuzzi – Washboard
Erika Lewis – Vocals / Bass Drum

Track 2, Lonesome Drag, written by Erika Lewis
Track 4, Pyramid Strut, written by Shaye Cohn

Album art by Shaye Cohn

Recorded and mixed by Chris Townend at White Light on the Mountain, in Tasmania. March 2013.

previous arrow
next arrow

Barnabus Jones – Trombone
Robin Rapuzzi – Washboard
Greg Sherman – Guitar
Craig Flory – Clarinet
Erika Lewis – Vocals / Bass Drum
Jason Lawrence – 6-String Banjo
Shaye Cohn – Cornet / Fiddle
Todd Burdick – Tuba

Track 6, Owl Call Blues, written by Shaye Cohn & Erika Lewis

Album art by Shaye Cohn

Layout by Sarrah Danziger

Recorded and mixed by Max Bien-Kahn in the Holy Cross, New Orleans, LA. Dec. ’13 – Jan. ’14.

Erika Lewis – Vocals and Bass Drum
Barnabus Jones – Trombone
Shaye Cohn – Cornet and Piano
Craig Flory – Clarinet and Tenor Saxophone
Jonathan Doyle – Clarinet and Alto Saxophone
Tomas Majcherski – Tenor Saxophone and Clarinet
Max Bien Kahn – Resonator Guitar and 6 String Banjo
Jason Lawrence – 6 String Banjo and Resonator Guitar
Todd Burdick – Tuba and Upright Bass
Robin Rapuzzi – Washboard, Drumset

Track 4, Blue Chime Stomp, written by Shaye Cohn
Track 5, Broken Hearted Blues, written by Erika Lewis

Recorded on 4-track in April of 2015 at the Tigermen’s Den in New Orleans
Engineered by Max Bien-Kahn
Mixed by Alex Hall.
Mastered by Bruce Barrielle

Album Art by Shaye Cohn

Craig Flory – Clarinet & Bass Clarinet
Barnabus Jones – Trombone
Shaye Cohn – Cornet
Jason Lawrence – 6-String Banjo
Greg Sherman – Resonator Guitar & Vocals
Max Bien Kahn – Resonator Guitar & Vocals on Track 4
Todd Burdick – Sousaphone
Robin Rapuzzi – Drumkit & washboard

Craig Flory: clarinet
Barnabus Jones: trombone
Shaye Cohn: cornet
Tomas Majcherski: tenor saxophone
Jason Lawrence: 6-string banjo
Greg Sherman: guitar and vocals
Max Bien-Kahn: resonator guitar
Todd Burdick: sousaphone
Robin Rapuzzi: drumkit and washboard
Erika Lewis: vocals on tracks 5 and 13

Other Albums Featuring Shaye Cohn

Recorded in New Orleans, Louisiana, USA,
in the lower 9th ward – 21. October 2010

Norbert Susemihl – trumpet
Erika Lewis – vocal
Shaye Cohn – piano

Norbert Susemihl – Night on Frenchmen Street by Norbert Susemihl, Erika Lewis, Shaye Cohn, Jason Marsalis, Kerry Lewis, Gregory Agid

Recorded in New Orleans, Louisiana, USA:
2.+7. May 2012 at Word Of Mouth Studio.

Norbert Susemihl (D/DK/USA) – trumpet, vocal
Erika Lewis (USA) – vocal
Gregory Agid (USA) – clarinet, sax
Shaye Cohn (USA) – piano
Kerry Lewis (USA) – bass
Jason Marsalis (USA) – drums

Trumpets: Shaye Cohn, J.R. Hankins, Jenavieve Cook Kachmarik, Misha Heil, Lou Carrig, Kate Paxton
Mids: Susan Sakash, Baby Willis, Jeff Boston, John Gerken
Lows: Todd Burdick, Bruno Soria
Reeds: Tomas Majcherski, Byron Asher, Aaron Gunn
Percussion: Daniel Murphy, Elyse Manning, Zayd Sifri, Cameron Kellogg, Robin Rapuzzi
Recorded, mixed, and mastered by Joseph Faison
Artwork by Magda Boreysza

Read our review of this album: Wit’s End Brass Band

  • Charlie Halloran – trombone
  • Tom Mcdermott – piano
  • Doug Garrison – drums
  • Pete Olynciw – bass
  • Zayd Sifri – percussion
  • Robin Rappuzzi – drums
  • Max Bien-Kahn – guitar
  • Todd Burdick – banjo
  • Shaye Cohn – piano

Read our Review of this album: Ce Biguine! by Charlie Halloran

Erika Lewis- vocals, guitar
Shaye Cohn- vocals, fiddle
Matt Bell- lap steel
Pete Olynciw- bass

Recorded by Justin LeCuyer in the Holy Cross, New Orleans. May 2016
Mastered by Chad Crumm

All songs written by Erika Lewis

Erika Lewis- guitar and vocals 
Shaye Cohn- bass 
Lyle Werner- fiddle 
John James Tourville- pedal steel 

Recorded by Justin LeCuyer in the Holy Cross, New Orleans 

All songs written by Erika Lewis except track 4 by Riley Puckett, and track 7 by Bill Monro

Max Bien-Kahn – guitar, vocals
Jordan Odom – guitar, vocals
Eli Silverman – bass
Robin Rapuzzi – drums
Shaye Cohn – piano
Emma Eisenhauer – vocals
Camille Weatherford – vocals

Lyle Werner fiddle and Matt Bell lap steel on “End of the World”
released June 15, 2016

All songs written and recorded by Max Bien-Kahn, except for “Island” which was recorded by Duff Thompson.
Mixed at Living Room Studios, New Orleans by Ross Farbe.
Mastered by Harris Newman.

Meschiya Lake – Vocals
Jason Jurzaaki – Sousaphone, Bass, Percussion
Charles Halloran – Trombone
Shaye Cohn – Cornet
Luke Winslow King – Guitar
Winfield Newton Burdick – Banjo
Mike Voelker – Drums, Percussion

Dr. Michael White – Clarinet on All Songs
Richard Anderson – Trombone
Alexander R. Belhaj – Guitar
Detroit Brooks – Banjo
Leon “Kid Chocolate” Brown – Trumpet & Vocals
Shaye Cohn – Cornet
David L. Harris – Trombone
Herman Lebeaux – Drums
Steve Pistorius – Piano
Dimitri Smith – Sousaphone
Gregory Stafford – Trumpet
Seva Veneet – Banjo

Shaye Cohn DiscographyFeatures Shaye Cohn on the last two tracks. Aurora Nealand Guests on Another.

Shaye Cohn DiscographyShaye Cohn appears on one track with Aurora Nealand,  Mike Voelker, Todd Burdick, and Matt Bell

Compilation album featuring Shaye’s original composition Blue Chime Stomp.

We’re sure there are other albums out there with a track or more of Shaye. Please let us know about them so they can be added to this list.

Contact: [email protected]

We will be creating discographies for other traditional jazz artists starting with those active in New Orleans.  If you want to make a list for an individual artist, for example Ewan Bleach or Aurora Nealand, and send it our way it will make the project go much faster. We have a wish list of over 50 musicians who deserve a discography, it will only grow. 

  • 77